"Budget" 35mm Lens

JuveFC

Advertisement (gone after registration)

First post! I have filled my head with so much information that i have a headache! I know this topic has been discussed for ages.

I'm a commercial photographer who works with digital for a living. I've been shooting film since i was 10 (Olympus OM-1 in 1986) and continue to do so today. I have been finally able to afford the camera i have wanted since i was a kid which is a Leica M6. That doesn't leave my much room for a lens (I have a wife). 

When shooting film, i generally shoot street but 40% of the time it is in low light (i even do some indoor stuff with the kids). 

Resolution is somewhat important to me. The Zeiss 35mm f2.8 Biogon was an option but at 2.8 i am hesitating but i prefer a more vintage look. The Voigtlanders 35mm's seem to be hit in miss...you find reviews on both sides of the fence. I was looking at the SUMMICRON-M 35mm f/2 both the V1 and V2. Those are the only two i can find in my price range but i still see those selling for $1000USD. I don't mind a little character but not at the expense of resolution wide open. 

Can you guys let me know your opinions or if you guys can suggest something else. Thanks

ps: I still can't believe i'm an owner of a Leica. 

Edited by JuveFC
  • Like 1

Looking for a used 1:2.5/35mm Summarit might be the best option. The optics are the same as with the current 1:2,4 version - and not worse than a Summicron asph. 

Then there is the 1:2.8/35mm Summaron, which is quite good for its age of about 50 years now.

Anything named Summicron with 35mm will cost you much more than 1000,-USD, the first version nearer to 2000,- than to 1000,-.

Thanks for the help. After looking at pictures, reviews etc the one i am really leaning towards is the SUMMICRON-M 35mm f/2 V1 

Does anyone have real world experience with this lens? 

I also forgot to mention that i am not into heavier/bigger lenses like the Biogon F2.