M system spare battery?

_Michael

Advertisement (gone after registration)

With apologies for what is likely to be a question asked elsewhere, I'd like to hear thoughts on this. I did try to do a search and didn't really find a clear answer/leaning. 

I'm pretty new in the M world with my fairly recently acquired M262. I find the battery life to be outstanding, and I have never dipped below 75%. That said, I have also not had any real extended shooting sessions. What are your general thoughts about keeping a spare body. I don't have video or EVF of the 240 to worry about. I'm leaning towards getting one "just in case" but also don't see a point on buying something that won't be used. 

For those that carry an extra, do you find you actually use it?  For those (rare) times when I'd be on an extended trip with little access to power or something I'd obviously want/need extras. Do you ever need it in a long day of shooting with some chipping along the way? 

In the end this really is a silly question because only I can decide. I ask simply because of the lack of experience with this little battery. Other small mirrorless systems I've used I find extras (stressing multiple extras), here I'm just not sure. 

Yes I always carry and extra battery. Nope I have never used it.
My position is the same as yours a long walk and shooting all day.
I try not to chimp I never shoot video....but an extra, fully charger battery seems like good insurance.
When I was shooting professionally I carried 5 extras and a charger.

The M240 has an amazing battery life.
Edited by ECohen