which film M for pro-use?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everybody (0:

Which film M would you recommend for high volume professional work?

I am a wedding photographer, shooting 25 big weddings a year. Have been using digital Leicas for years. Use mainly the 35 FLE or 35 Summicron IV.
On a usual 12 hour day I tend to shoot about 2500 images. This will be less when using film.

My plan is to shoot weddings on film only, mainly HP5, some Fuji 400H. I will also use a Nikon FM2 with a 50/1.4 (a SLR for being able to free-lensing).
I use manual flash later in the evening and for the dance-shots.

So, which film Leica would you choose? And why.

in case you wonder:
https://just-schmidt.com

thank you for your input!

Heiko

• Like 1

• Replies 146
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For high rate/voluminous use, I'd use two motorized Ms for two film types, color & b& w.

First M to accept is M4-2, then M4-P = the less costy route ( with two Motor-M of course😏) .

If meter in camera M6 or MP if cost is acceptable.

If new, only MP or M-A ( two of them was my choice, New M-A from 2014 ).

• Like 2

Hats off to you for setting yourself this kind of challenge!

(A) Seriously:

For ease of use, speed, and peace of mind I would propably prefer an M7 for your portfolio. The workflow will be very similiar to the digital Ms that you are used to. Although the M7 has been discontinued very recently, there are some new ones still on stock in several Leica boutiques. Any other metered M would do, of course, but there are occasions when the M7’s automatic exposure will be useful. Freshly discontinued, there will be spare parts available for quite a number of years.