SL with M lens -- how is it different than an M with an M lens?

EddieCheddar

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello all,

I am new to all of this, and I have an M10 with .35 lens.

The M10 has absolutely made me a better photographer (having to adjust all settings, and figure stuff out before you get the shot), which I enjoy.

I have never used an SL.

However, I am interested in the SL system due to the autofocus -- my older contact-wearing eyes would appreciate the auto focus, and it would be nice to get "action" shots at the dog-park, too.

The bulk of the SL lenses scares me, though.  I do enjoy taking the "small" M10 with me on regular outings.

Every now and then I'll read a post where someone mentions how great the SL is with an M lens.

Other than video, how is an SL with an M lens different than an M with an M lens?

Thanks in advance!

Having owned an M10 and owning an SL now and still having my M9 I can say this. Just as formerly an R could not replace an M and vice versa the SL is a different system camera than the M. I see an M as how it was conceived by Barnack, a street camera. The SL is more allround except that’s not ideal for the street. And indeed it focuses very fast for older contact-wearing eyes even with manual focus lenses with the focusing aid, but the M10 has the best rangefinder of all M’s thus far so in practice I don’t see so much difference in ease and speed of focusing. However, I just use M and R lenses on the SL thus far. My eyes are not that old that I need autofocus yet. The thing with autofocus is that you have to adapt to the way the system wor’thinks’, which is not the case with an M. I would stick to your M as long as you can, if I were you.

• Like 1