Leica 60 Macro - old vs new

sfowler

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have the new Leica CL and have been looking at the Leitz R 60mm 2.8 Macro and then I see the new autofocus Leica APO-Macro-Elmarit-TL 60mm f/2.8 ASPH Lens.  I have the Leica M to L adapter that was provided free with the purchase of the camera so I can always add an R to M adapter to mount the old R lens if I bought that lens. I noticed the price is the big difference from what I can see . The old can be bought for $400 and the new can be bought for about $3000. So my question is - is there a big quality difference between these two lenses besides the cost? Will the R lens work on the new CL with the R to M  then M to L adapter? Any opinions regarding this? Any options other than what I am looking at? Would like some view points on this idea as I am relatively new to Leica. I love the new CL and only have the Leica Summilux-TL 35mm f/1.4 ASPH Lens with it. 

Thanks for reading and providing your input. 

sam

The R 60mm goes to 1:2 and needs the Macro-Adapter-R to get to 1:1; whereas the 60 TL goes to 1:1 on its own.  At 1:1 the R 60mm gives 19mm more working distance than the 60mm TL.

The R lens will work on the CL with the R to M + M to L adapter. 

Shooting hand-held, the CL's AF-C is easily good enough to give me a better keeper rate with the 60mm TL lens than I got manually focusing the R lens (assuming sufficient shutter speed).

Having owned the R 60mm in the past and the 60mm TL currently, I much prefer the 60mm TL. 

• Like 2