SL's Low-Light Performance?

Agent M10

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am thinking of buying into the SL system. One question: how good is the SL's low-light performance? I had an M-D and the most it could manage was 1600 and sometimes that wasn't great. I have a couple of M10s and don't have any problems with 10K or less. How does the SL currently stack up against the M10?

I stop at ISO6400 unless I’m willing to display small and go b/w.

Samples should be available online. I believe the M10 is slightly better. There should be some threads here and/or the M forum that explain the difference. I have no experience with the M10 but the SL is better than my M240.

I am thinking of buying into the SL system. One question: how good is the SL's low-light performance? I had an M-D and the most it could manage was 1600 and sometimes that wasn't great. I have a couple of M10s and don't have any problems with 10K or less. How does the SL currently stack up against the M10?

It depends, I've gotten a few nice shots at ISO 20K+ where there are fewer tones in the image. But, there is quite a bit of noise especially the color noise, it does take a bit of processing to make it acceptable.

Picture below was ISO 20K, handheld - SL+24-90 processing was  done with DxO.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

i never go above ISO 1600...ISO 3200 only if its something i really wanna take a quick photo of...but i use M lenses so in manual focus its fine...the people using Autofocus might have more insight on available light night shooting

the noise at 1600 and 3200 is quite nice unlike sony cameras

i never go above ISO 1600...ISO 3200 only if its something i really wanna take a quick photo of...but i use M lenses so in manual focus its fine...the people using Autofocus might have more insight on available light night shooting