The Leica Forum uses cookies. Read the privacy statement for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    OK, understood.

Photo
- - - - -

Dark church.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Flight959

Flight959

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 September 2018 - 08:55

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)

Morning all,

I have a large church local to me which has some stunning internal features which would look great on the Monochrom. I'm not new to photography but I'm very new to using this rangefinder in such low light. The church typically has a large stained glass window at one end. I'm looking to take plenty of internal shots. I would be greatful if anyone could give me any tips with using this camera. I have only owned it for a few months. I have two lenses to use... A 35mm summaron or a 28mm f2.

Having a reasonable amount of time shooting with an M8.2, again very little was in low light as its not famed for its low light performance.

Unfortunately today there is an issue with my tripod so all shots will pretty much be hand held.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

#2 PaulJohn

PaulJohn

Erfahrener Benutzer

• Members
  • 257 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK

Posted 14 September 2018 - 09:53

There are two things you will need to learn for yourself in this exercise.

1. How low you personally can set your shutter speed with good handheld technique (google it). Bracket a few speeds (say 1/15, 1/30, 1/60) and repeat a few times to see if you can consistently achieve sharp results.

2. How much noise you personally want or don't want. Some people like it.

Apart from that I would set the blinkies on to show you blown highlights - quite likely in a church if you are including the windows. In this scenario I tend to find the correct exposure by trial and error and bracket if both shadows and highlights get blown in the same shot.