Lightroom and options for non subscription models

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi All,

I have been very happy shooting away and using my cameras (M9-P and MM) for some time with LR4 on my iMac....... Then Sierra hit me...

I have a real aversion to subscription models, I love being lean and unencombered with no monthly payments. I had  a health scare a few years ago (A few might remember) and have changed my approach. No debt, no mortgage, no finance at all for me know.... Outside of food, insurance, necessary services I have nothing on the drip (apart from $0.79 a month for iCloud)  and want to stay that way. 

I did buy a perpetual licence upgrade, but although they took payment, they cancelled my order. Are there any solutions for LR and apple, I was delighted to move from Aperture to LR years ago, I see C1 is now licence and moving that way. Frankly £350 seems punchy too, all I want is LR4 back to be honest and working on my iMac !!

Any advice

:rolleyes:

• Like 1

A number of folks here have spoken highly of Luminar. There are reviews online, and I think the cost is $69.

Personally, I use and like LR CC Classic, after having used the standalone version since LR3. The way I look at it, it costs roughly $120 per year, just spread out monthly, but it includes LR and Photoshop. I used to spend $79 or so to upgrade LR every so often anyway, and in recent years Adobe didn’t provide all features to perpetual license users.... now I get them all. And no, I don’t use cloud storage, nor is it mandatory. If it becomes required, I also will switch companies.

Jeff

I still haven't found anyone who is using Darktable.  It is free, forever.  I would never buy Microsoft Office because Open Office is free.  I am hoping that Darktable will eventually equal Lightroom because Darktable will always be free.  Unless the Apple engineers who design the MacPro come back from their five year vacation soon, I may be switching to the Linux operating system.

• Like 1