7artisans 35/2 on APS-C

lct

Advertisement (gone after registration)

7artisans 35/2 on the CL

Neat little lens indeed. Just used it on the digital CL so far. On rangefinders, beware that it has a sloping focus cam like lenses for the Leica (film) CL. Not a problem to focus my M240 at first glance but i did not try the lens on it or any other rangefider yet.

On the digital CL, the lens reminds me of the Summarit 35/2.5 as far as IQ is concerned. Somewhat in between the so-called "clinical" sharpness of Leica asph lenses (35/2 asph, 35/1.4 FLE) and Mandler lenses like Summicron 35/2 v4. 
I have no experience enough to draw conclusions about this lens but its only flaws so far are flare when strong light sources are just ouside the frame (a good hood is advised then) and 35/2 asph 6-bit coding. I'd prefer unpainted coding pits so that i can choose the code i prefer (35/2 v4 probably).
Couple of test pics on the CL below.

f/2:
i-tnDgtwP-L.jpg

f/2 crop 1:
i-pLswNV2.jpg

f/2 crop 2:
i-2rKZQCh.jpg

f/2.8:
i-f26HkCL-L.jpg

f/2.8 crop 1:
i-7X8sSfq.jpg

f/2.8 crop 2:
i-GdWr9hX.jpg

f/5.6:
i-j3VRWpN-L.jpg

f/5.6 crop 1:
i-QTvXdZ6.jpg

f/5.6 crop 2:
i-KPW9V7m.jpg
  • Like 4

I have one and am swithering wether to keep it compared to my 40 summicron-C   . the summicron is sharper and flares less but the 'chinacron' as I call it has a very pleasing Bokeh and that extra bit of wideness, Agree a decent hood is essential     ....still undecided ....and most improtantly , will either save me from buying the 35 1.4 TL??? 

I don't find my Summicron 40/2 any sharper, on the CL at least, and it flares more when light sources are inside the frame. As for the TL 35/1.4 it has an excellent reputation indeed but i have no experience with it sorry. I prefer small lenses on small bodies personally. YMMV.

• Like 1