21-35, 28-90, or 35-70 Vario?

thebarnman

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have read that most if not all the Leica Vario lens perform better than their primes at certain wider angle settings.  Since I've been shooting with my APO-Summicron-R 90mm f/2 ASPH for well over 10 years now; I'm now looking for something similar in performance at wider angles such as around 35mm.  I'd get a 35mm prime for my R9, but I have read the Vario lenses around those wider settings perform better.

The 21-35 might seem right since it's the wider angles I'm looking for, but I've been reading the 35-70 f/4 has better performance.  

So I'm currently considering the Vario R 35-70 f/4 ROM for it's price and performance.  Was there any improvements with the 35-70 f/4 ROM during it's production?  If so; what serial numbers should I look for? 

Also, I know the 35-70 f/4 is slower than the others, so I'm guessing that's why the cost seems to be more reasonable?  With it's dimmer view; I'm sure it will also be harder to view the image in the viewfinder when compared to what I'm used to with my 90mm f/2.  But at it's price point and performance; I don't think there's much to loose quality wise considering.   

In the samples below, the 28-90 looks like it performs better than the 21-35 examples.  And the 35-70 4.0 examples seem to be on par (or exceed the 28-90 examples.)  

21-35 https://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/260701-leica-dmr-image-thread/page-10?do=findComment&comment=3088897
21-35 https://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/260701-leica-dmr-image-thread/page-6?do=findComment&comment=3058189

28-90 (A couple distant shots of planes on the ground) https://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/260701-leica-dmr-image-thread/page-4?do=findComment&comment=3056693

35-70 4.0 https://www.flickr.com/groups/1191210@N22/pool/with/36334761352/

I know I'm answering my own question here, but I'd like to hear from others their thoughts of the various Vario lens. 

Thanks!