Wish me good luck. (for Ektar 100)

jmahto

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I started shooting film few months ago (again). After two decades! So far I have tried few BW films (Ilford HP5 400, Tri-X 400 and T-MAX 400) but for color, I tried only UltraMax400 (hey, it was cheap!). I was not very happy with UltraMax. Colors were ok but it had tons of grain visible even in web size pictures. I didn't like it for outdoors pictures.

Now I am going on a backpacking trip for couple of days and decided to carry only film. (It is no risk for capturing memory since other friends will have digital). I searched till the end of the internet(s) and learned that Kodak created Ektar 100 exactly for my purpose. :) I also learned that I have to be super smart in order to use it since it is not a film for dummies. I guess I will be ok. In any case, I am going to carry extra film just so that I can bracket if needed. Not to cover for metering but more to experiment and see what happens to the color in over/under exposing.

Now my day is approaching and suddenly the forecast for the backpacking days has turned to cloudy with thunderstorms. I am afraid I may not have any sunny blue skies at all for which Ektar is famous for (so I have been told by internet(s)).

I am going to shoot anyway. Wish me good luck.

• Like 2

Thanks, and good luck Jayant! You will still see the Ektar magic shine through - in any weather. I'd be inclined to stick to box speed and average metering - Ektar likes to play it nice and safe. Have a great hike - I'm sure you'll end up impressing your digital friends with the colours you achieve.

• Like 2

One thing to keep in mind with Ektar 100 is that shadow and dark areas tend to appear with purple-blueish casts. This can look cool for some scenes, in others it is just a pain to have. Regular colors all appear very rich and vibrant when lit well. Careful with portraits and Ektar 100 due to reddish cast on Caucasian skin.  

• Like 1