second woe with the 35mm Summilux FLE

Eastgreenlander

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a amateur photographer from Greenland and I have bought the 35mm summilux FLE for the second time and for the second time I have experience the same problem with this lens. I cannot take the UV filter off the lens without screwing the last glass element off too; when I turn the lenshood, the front glass element turns too. The first time i encountered this problem it was under warranty but this time it is not. Does anybody know if Leica will fix this for free or at a cost?

As you said this already happened twice with two different lenses. It could be 1:1,000,000 chance that there was something wrong with both lenses but I am inclined to think you may be doing something wrong or your description may be something else.

I checked my Summilux 35mm FLE, code 11663 and can’t see how this can be possible. First you unscrew lenshood, filter thread appears to share same metal barrel as hood thread. First or front lens element is behind engraved ring which sits inside the front barrel with filter and hood threads.

Would you be able to provide photo illustration of the offending lens parts?

Since your lens is out of warranty and you got it second hand i see no legal way for you i'm afraid but Leica may agree to fix it for free if there is a defect in the lens. Little chance i suspect but there is no harm in asking Leica.

• Like 1

As you said this already happened twice with two different lenses. It could be 1:1,000,000 chance that there was something wrong with both lenses but I am inclined to think you may be doing something wrong or your description may be something else.

I checked my Summilux 35mm FLE, code 11663 and can’t see how this can be possible. First you unscrew lenshood, filter thread appears to share same metal barrel as hood thread. First or front lens element is behind engraved ring which sits inside the front barrel with filter and hood threads.