Low light comparison: Q vs 007

Deliberate1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Friends, I have been shooting an 006 for nearly three years and just could not be happier with it, mostly, I came to it from the M9 which, like its big CCD brother, has a pretty limited usable ISO ceiling, at least for color work. I do the work-around, underexpose and then push in PP, but that does not always work acceptably. That said, I have pushed images by three and four stops with remarkable results. 

For a recent trip to Thailand, I acquired a Q for low light situations. And to be sure, it is remarkable in that element. I got images that simply would not have been possible with the S (or M9). The camera is a gem - solid, fast, discreet, pretty much everything I could have hoped for. Except I just do not have an eye for 28mm. I worked up some images this evening. And while cropping to something less still gives a pretty robust file, it is just not the same as filling the viewfinder with what you are actually going to get. Beyond that, while the wysiwyg qualities of the Q with exposure adjustments in real time is remarkable, I also discovered that I really am an OVF guy. No doubt, part of the issue is the fact that I feel that the ergonomics of the S were custom designed for me. Looking through the OVF reminds me of the OVF view through my Rollie 6008i. I just love seeing that big ass window onto the word - not a tv screen.

So to my question, for those of you who have both the Q and the 007, could you kindly share how similar they are in low light situations. For me, an S with the night vision of the Q would be perfect. That said, I do realize that there is no S lens that is as fast as the Q. The closest, I suppose would be the Contax 80mm f2.

Much obliged.

David

• Like 1

You might read David Farkas' article on Red Dot Forum, where he took the S 007 out for a night on Miami Beach:

(https://www.reddotforum.com/content/2018/01/night-shooting-leica-s-typ-007/)