Newbie Needs a Little Help

TomKB

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi.  My name is Tom and I'm hoping to get a little help.  I'm brand new to the Leica world, so I'm trying to determine the appropriate expectations.  A few days ago I purchased a used M10 from B&H.  I love it.  But I'm having a problem with the focusing.  I'll explain.  

For a year I have owned a few Leica lenses that I have used on a Sony body.  Now that I have an M10, I'm struggling with focus.  I use a 50mm Summicron F2 version 4, and I was consistently getting what I considered to be soft images on the M10.  This lens had performed well on the Sony, and all reviews glow about its sharpness.  But I was not seeing it.  

So I went online and I found some pictures of a dollar bill someone had taken with the same lens.  My results were decidedly inferior.  But I noted some details of my experiment and this is what I found.  If I focused with the range finder focusing system I got poor results.  If I focused with the live view and focus peeking, I got decent results.  If I focused with precisely measured distances relying on the focus scale, I got good results.  Significantly, when I checked range finder focus when it was focused with the distance scale, the range finder system indicated it was well out of focus even though that was not the case.  My teenage daughter and her good eyes confirmed my observations. 

I suspected that perhaps the camera's calibration was off.  I put on my Leica 90mm f2.8 Tele-Elmarit and I observed the same results.  So that seems to confirm that it's the calibration.  

But here is where it gets odd.  I put on my 35mm Voigtlander Ultron and everything works perfectly.  The rangefinder focus system and the scale distance results are the same.  I can take crystal clear pictures with this lens with the range finder system and it's a joy.