Leica Watches - L1 & L2 - what do you think?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

(mods - feel free to move or merge. I couldn't find discussion on this elsehwere at time of writing and this seems like an appropriate forum for it).

I have been using Leica cameras of various types for a few years now - modern and vintage. I'm also a watch enthusiast - modern and vintage. I was surprised this morning when checking Hodinkee, an online watch magazine I follow, to see that Leica is to release two German-made watches this year - a time-date "L1" and a GMT "L2".

Well, good on Leica for giving this a go. I'm not against brand extension. Look at the success Montblanc has had with watches after being know as a pen and lethear goods brand. But the key there is that they positioned their watches in the mid-luxury market. 

Leica has been developing its technology and refining its camera products for decades - a century already in the case of the M. They are expensive products, but they are high quality, and - critically - one can argue (as we often do on this forum) that they are best in class, much like a Rolex Submariner or a Porsche 911. So I don't mind the Leica high prices for cameras and lenses so much. 

But I was a little surprised when I got to the end of the article and saw "Pricing not yet announced, but will start under €10,000 for the L1". Pricing near that level would position Leica's time-date watch above almost all brands except the super luxury haute horlogerie brands like Vacheron Constantin, Patek Philippe, Audemars Piguet or A. Lange & Sohne. It would position them above Jaeger LeCoultre, Cartier, or even Glashütte Original for example. 

That might make sense if this was intended as a brief collaboration limited edition. (watchmaking partner is Lehmann Präzision). But quite a bit of design effort seems to have gone into these watches, so it would seem that this is intended as a new line for Leica.