Leica M3 has no Serial Number on top?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I'm very new to Leica cameras and to this forum so I don't know if this is the best place for this topic so if it's not please point me in the right direction. My grandfather recently found a Leica M3 at a garage sale with the lens and the meter attached. I've been researching the camera for the past few days when I can and I found that these cameras are either Single Stroke or Double Stroke and that you can tell by the serial number on the top plate.

However, when I pulled off the meter this afternoon to read the number, there was nothing there. I suspected at first that it may have been worn off but on closer inspection it seems like there was never anything there in the first place, which baffles me. I don't know if this is a common thing but I've looked around the internet plenty and can't find anyone with this issue.

Would greatly appreciate any help. 

Here's a photo of the top plate:

https://imgur.com/a/TffiYrR 

Welcome to the forum! Do you have any photo's of the M3? and are you sure that it is a M3?

Did you check if the shutter is working? If so, you will easily find out if it is a double stroke or a single stroke when you move the transport lever.

Lex

Edited by sandro

Advertisement (gone after registration)

A replacement top is a new part for a damaged camera.  The old serial number is supposed to be engraved on the new top by the repair facility.  Of course it is a cheaper repair to skip the engraving.  The number of strokes needed to advance the film and cock the shutter (1 or 2) determines whether it is single or double stroke.  The older cameras were double stroke before Leitz changed to different gearing.

A replacement top is a new part for a damaged camera.  The old serial number is supposed to be engraved on the new top by the repair facility.

At some point Leica stamped a "*" at the end of a serial number when a top was replaced.