35mm advice

Giripai83

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello All,

I know this question has been asked before. I have been reading with much interest all the topics on this particular lens. 

I am however still frustrated because I cannot make up my mind. 

I currently own the 28mm Elmarit ASPH and the 50mm Summilux. I shoot on the M10.

I love the focal length of 28 and 50. before entering the Leica system I used to have Fuji Xt2 and X100f and loved using the 35mm focal length. 

Now my cinfusion is that I use the 28mm as a daily driver and consider the 50mm more of a special occasion lens that I use when i know I will be taking portraits or when I know light will be low. 

However, This lens is much heavier and harder to focus than the 28mm elmarit. (I am new to the rangefinder system)

There are times i need the extra stop and f2.8 will just not cut it. So I have been debating about which daily driver lens I should invest in now. something that will complement the lenses that i already own. 

After doing some serious image searching, I find that the 35mm would be a good buy. Now there are so many options. 

- 35mm Summicron ASPH

- 35mm Summilux FLE

- 35mm Summicron Version 4

The reason for the MkIV is that Ive seen that its TINY! very similar to the elmarit 28mm and I think this would really be comfortable to use. and the images it makes is quite lovely. 

Since the 28mm and 50mm are ASPH, should i go in for the version 4 35mm to get a different look and still have the size advantage, or is it better to use the ASPH or FLE on the lates M10 body. 

Currently on Ebay the 35mm MkIV sells at around $2500. Is . this price worth it or should i consider the newer lens?

35mm ASPH is a fine lens but quite heavy and its rendition is almost same as the elmarit 

35mm FLE is even more heavy and 2 times the price of the cron ASPH