GDPR – How it affects the Leica Forum

I am a Premium member and I greatly appreciate your work to sort out this confusing area. This forum is an unusual one in how well its run and the quality of people participating and images shown. That’s why I stay active on it. Thanks.

• Like 6

I will be signing up as a Premium member.  GDPR resulted from the absolute disregard of an individual's privacy by many web companies.  I am personally concerned about the activity of Google Analytics, a known privacy offender.  I am a resident of the United States and appreciate the positive impact GDPR is having globally because the US Congress is too gutless to do anything.

• Like 2

I wonder about VigiLink - blocking it results in links not working on this site.

Google Analytics have been blocked for years on my computers, I don't trust anything coming from that Moloch.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Andreas,

Thank you for the hard graft you've been putting in behind the scenes on our behalf to ensure GDPR compliance.

I sincerely hope that GDPR does not spell the end for posting portraits or street pictures on the forum.  I work for an organisation that is heavily affected by GDPR and has provided training in compliance.  None of the training indicated that GDPR includes facsimiles of people or photographic portraiture unless it's 'tagging' of people through social media sites such as FaceBook where an individual's name can be added to an automatic 'balloon'.  I understand that it is now possible to prevent tagging of yourself by others through the site's Privacy settings.

I personally would not, and have not, identified anyone in pictures I have posted on the forum without their consent, particularly at meetings of forum members, out of politeness and common decency and because I would not wish them to identify me other than by my forum name.