New CL -- Images look awful

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Not sure if there is something I am missing or what but is there something that needs to be set to get the most out of using M lenses on the CL? I have researched this camera for weeks, and looked at images some of which look very good, some not so good. But nothing prepared me for what I encountered when I finally broke down and purchased one today along with the M adapter. I hate to say this but I am honestly seeing some of the worst looking images I have ever seen from a digital camera. I've been shooting for well over 50 years, have been using digitals since they first appeared, am on my 5th digiital Leica (other than the CL) and again, honestly, I have never seen images look so bad. They lack contrast, resolution, saturation, and color accuracy. If i had seen images like the ones I shot today and didn't know what camera produced them, I might have guessed some sub $100 throwaway camera and not a $3000 Leica.

What am I missing? Is there some menu setting or SOMEthing that I might be overlooking? I have everything set to default.

Please help, I want this camera to work for me and HOPE that it IS something I am overlooking. So far, I have only shot with a couple of M lenses (35 lux and 50 cron-non APO).

Thanks

Surprising, as the output of the CL is really excellent and rivals the SL and M10.  So either there is something seriously wrong with this camera, or something is going seriously off the rails in post postprocessing. Check things like the camera profile used and reset all processing todefaultl. Upload a DNG to Dropbox and let forum members play with it.

• Like 1

When you attach a M lens you will designate it from a list of M lenses in the camera.  Did you select your lens?

Are you set to DNG files or Jpegs?

Is your ISO set correctly?

It does sound like something is wrong with the camera as this is not the usual experience (and I doubt my checklist above would cause your issues).