SL+primes vs medium format

tom0511

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have the impression, that the new primes for the SL (I have some experience with the 50 and 75mm) bring 35mm/ the SL IQ closer to the IQ of medium format? Specially the transition from the sharp areas to the background, but also micro detail and tones seem really impressive to me.

For a few times I have shot around with bot the SL and the S and/ord x1d and must say that the SL with the 75 (or 50) did pretty well.

Even DR didnt seem that far away.

I know there is also the question of 16bit color, and I havent compared prints so far, and of course much higher resolution in regards of MP.

But lets say up to a certain print size, anybody who also thinks the SL+ primes have come a step closer?

I definitely have the same impression ..... the images have higher inherent clarity and definition than with other lenses ...... plus the smooth transitions between OOF elements do give them a look that seems to mimic the higher DR of MF. The 75/2 in particular gives the impression you are using a significantly larger sensor .....

I'm not entirely sure whether all this is real or just an illusion due to the way it renders images ..... but the final processed images do look different. It's even evident reviewing photos on the EVF. 

I suppose it just indicates that the quality of the lens does play a bigger part in the photography pathway than we tend to give it credit for. 

Edited by thighslapper

The SL lenses are special, for sure. I haven't seen anything in 24x36 format that I like better. I also have a full set of Sony GM lenses and my associate shoots Canon L. I'm looking forward to a body that can keep up with them. The XCD lenses are as sharp but don't draw as nicely. The S lenses do, I think. You can put the S lenses on the S and they are great. They too need a body that does them justice. Probably more importantly than the SL.