Options of PP without Lightroom?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a newbie Leica Q user. I started using my Leica Q just for a couple of days. I got a bit of problem about PP here. So my situation is:

1. I shoot DNG+JEG;

2. I would love to do PP on DNG files;

3. I am always on the go. So the only computer i have with me most of the time, is a Macbook Air, which obviously is not powerful enough for Lightroom;

4. I have enjoyed using Snapseed on my iPhone for years, but apparently DNG files cannot be imported from my Leica Q to iPhone, through the app (Am I right on this one?).

Do you guys have any suggestions for me?

Some PP applications usable on a light platform like a Macbook air?

Or some magical way that i can import DNG pictures to my iPhone may be?

Lightroom worked well on my Macbook Air (2011 version), but Luminar and ON1 are good choices as well, as is Photoshop Elements.

Thanks for your advice!

I just realized that it works after i updated MacOS in my Macbook Air.

But speaking of such, i always wonder. Is it better to pay for LR on a subscription basis? Or does it worth more to pay one-off for apps like Luminar or ON1?

Edited by alfredlgj

You can use Lightroom mobile on your phone but I believe Photos app will only import DNG if there are no corresponding JPEGs.

Oh, so what should i do?

Plug the Camera to my laptop, delete the JPG files on the SD card. And then use the iPhone Leica app to import the picture again?

If you can’t configure the camera to not save JPEG.

You only need a quick test to see if you like this workflow. I find it ok when i’m on holiday but prefer the desktop when I’m at home.

I’m very happy with Lightroom subscription service.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Thanks for your advice!

I just realized that it works after i updated MacOS in my Macbook Air.