35mm Summilux Vs Zeiss 35mm f/1.4 Distagon

Leica_Virgin

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all, apologies if this topic has already been covered (I couldn't find any direct comparisons).

I'm new to the rangefinder universe, I finally took the plunge this week and invested in an M10 with a 50 ASPH lux. I'm looking for a (preferably fast) wider companion and interested in hearing from people with experience of both the Zeiss 35mm 1.4 and the Summilux 35mm 1.4 - what have your experiences been, are there any advantages/disadvantages of one over the other (I know the Zeiss is bigger), which do you prefer? I don't mind sacrificing reduced weight and size for superior image quality, I'm already loving the feel of the 50 lux's files and want to keep that micro-contrasty Leica vibe. I know these things are subjective, opinions welcome!

Thanks in advance!

Chris

This has been discussed regularly before. Consensus appears to be that the Zeiss is bigger, but as good or better and there is a price difference. However, both lenses have their fans.

• Like 4

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Chris, both lenses are superb optically. 

I used to own both lenses and sold the Zeiss after awhile. 

The Zeiss lens is slightly superior in the outer half of the frame and has less field curvature.

The Leica lens is lighter, has less viewfinder blockage and less CA.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Without side by side comparison I believe that one is very happy with one or the other. When I think of myself I bought the Leica gear because of size and weight. So I would not buy a big heavy lens to go with it. The Leica lenses are so wonderully built and small. As a consequence competitors with more glass might be slightly better, whatever better means

• Like 2

I have the current version of summilux 35mm 1.4..I love this lens that I purchased a mint (it appeared to be unused) used for about $3000...it is amazing. 

Edited by richardlipow
  • Like 2