The 24-90SL, distortion, in-camera corrections and PP

LocalHero1953

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I was asked by an elderly couple to take some family reunion shots. The room was not particularly big, and the group was large.

I used two flashes shooting into brollies on either side. The layout meant that I was fairly close to the group and shooting at the wide end, 24mm.

The first image is DNG imported into LR, with the Adobe Standard SL colour profile and Leica's embedded lens profile, and a small amount of sharpening as an import preset - otherwise this is SOOC with no other processing.

My concern was with the 'fat face' syndrome of the woman seated on the left and the woman standing on the right.

The second image is after using the 'Transform' module and guides to straighten it out, followed by cropping. The 'fat face' syndrome is reduced slightly but still there.

I haven't had to deal with this sort of problem before (I'm an amateur, and only occasionally do group photos like this), but I was surprised that Leica's embedded profile could not correct this wide angle distortion effect.

I tried manual distortion correction in the Lens Correction module, but that just distorted straight lines across the image.

The third image is a result of some research, which led me to Photoshop's Adaptive Wide Angle filter. This is much more satisfactory. I wonder if this might find its way into LR's Transform module in due course.

My questions are:

- how have other people dealt with this problem of distortion of people at the edges of a wide angle shot? I know the correct answer is to stand further away, but that wasn't an option here.

- is there any other software that can make corrections in the same way as Photoshop's Adaptive Wide Angle filter? Preferably software that can work correct the raw file for subsequent editing in Lightroom, rather than creating a TIFF or a Photoshop layer.