SL2 meter reading.

Robinyuill

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi there. I’m trying out a SL2 and have noticed that the meter seems to be measuring appropriately 2 stops over eg F16 instead of F8. I’m comparing it to the sunny 16 rule and the meter reading on my M7.

Would the wrong battery cause this? There’s a microcell 625A in it and I’ve noticed the posts in the forum about the correct battery not being available now and the meter should be adjusted to take the different voltage of the alternative batteries now. It’s a great camera but I’ve never used one before and I’m a bit undecided on getting it. The alternative is a newer R6.2 which should not have battery difficulties I hope.

Regards Robin.

The 625A cell is an alkaline cell at 1.5 V, whereas the SL2 - if not modified - uses a 1.35 V mercury cell. So, yes, your underexposure reading (it seems to be underexposure rather than overexposure) could result from the differing voltage. The SL2 can be adjusted to work with with 1.5 V cells though. Alternatvely, you could try to compensate by readjusting your ISO value. Instead of setting it to, say, ISO 200, set it to ISO 50 (which would give you correct exposure for ISO 200, assuming the two stops underexposure you indicated above).

Cheers, Andy