M lens caps

HeliFish

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been using Leicas for over 60 years – M3 bought in Aden when things were duty free there, M6 TTL (I still have both those), an M9 which was exchanged for an M262. Never have I had such an irritating thing as the current snap-on lens caps for the 50mm Summicron. I go through these like the proverbial… The mountains are littered with my lens caps which fall off with the slightest brush. Why can't Leica produce a rubber cap like the 35mm Summicron that fits on the lens hood, or even revert to older models? Does anyone else share my frustration?

You could always buy one of those cords that attach to the cap and camera or lens by way of sticky tape? I usually put the cap in my pocket when I am hiking or walking.

I know, but then the thing hangs down and dangles about in the wind! The old ones used to stay in place until deliberately removed and put in pocket. I just think it's a cheap effort for a very expensive camera.

If you adopt the “camera out of bag = lens cap in bag” rule then there isn’t a problem.

That's if you carry your camera in a bag. Try hiking with a bulky bag. In any case these lens caps often come off as you draw the camera out of the bag if you use one.

Rubber hood caps for Summicron 35/2 asph or Elmarit 28/2.8 asph are easy to loose as well, so much so that i never use them out of my bags. Anyway, you may wish to try a Kaiser 40mm lens cap if you use a filter. See:

Thanks, that's a useful source of information. I'm glad to see that many others have the same problem and that I'm not a complete clown.

Snap-on plastic caps from eBay: they come in virtually all sizes and cost less than 1$ each.

Buy a bunch and stop worrying about loosing them. Works for me. FWIW, I like the center-pinch ones.

The most surprising thing is that I don't seem to loose them anymore - a better design perhaps?