Tiny group of bubbles inside of Pre-Asph Summilux lens?

yourpalmarcus

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everyone, 

I recently purchased a type II Summilux 35mm and when I shine a light through the front I can see very clearly a large grouping of tiny bubbles and what looks like a streak of some kind  opposite of it inside the lens.  The coating on the front and rear are clean and the aperture blades are clean, and I can only see these when I tilt the lens in the light.  When I shine a light through the lens it is very apparent.

Can anyone explain what I'm seeing here?  Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Fungus takes many forms, I've learned... I'm not an expert, but I have seen a few lenses diagnosed with fungus by people more competent than me in this respect - and early manifestations of the disease sometimes show little white spots that are (unlike dust) rather neatly arranged. But, frankly, it's hard to say until the lens is opened and examined by someone competent.

• Like 1

On an older lens but the Elmar my father used as an enlarging lens had loads of bubbles in it. This was in the day his semi-professional Wray enlarger used a 250 or more watt Osram incandescent projector bulb which threw out a lot of heat. I am guessing this boiled the balsam used to fix the elements together. The main lenses he used on the enlarger were Wray 1¾" and 3¼" enlarger lenses (no focusing helicoid), which either used special balsam or were balsam free to withstand the heat, as they had no bubbles in them. When I first got my M4, the only lens I had to use on it was the old Elmar, which I thought would be absolutely useless. It was not as bad as I feared but once I had earned enough to buy a second hand 50 Summilux-M II, that was a very noticeable improvement.