Third Party Batteries

bobmcg

I would appreciate any guidance on third-party batteries.  I'm a new Q owner and the manual has some menacing statements about using only Leica OEM batteries.  Thanks in advance.

Best,

Bob

I've been using non-Leica batteries for almost two years with zero problems.  It is a standard Panasonic specification.  I only have Leica ones here with me so I can't tell you which other ones I use.

There are counterfeit and non-OEM batteries all over the internet. Some are fine, others can definitely damage your camera's electronics. When you spend more than $4000 on a camera, why take a chance just to save a few bucks?

(Note: It's now more than two years later so I'd like to amend the $4000 figure and change it to $8000.)

(Another year has passed. Now $9000.)

Edited by fotografr
  • Like 4
  • Haha 2

The Lumix DMW-BLC12PP is identical to the Leica battery. I use them all the time and you can get 3 Lumix batteries for the price of one Leica battery. I also use the Lumix charger with my Leica and Lumix batteries. It's smaller than the Leica charger and has a fold out plug instead of a power cord. Much more convenient and easier to travel with.

• Like 9
  • Thanks 1

The Lumix DMW-BLC12PP is identical to the Leica battery. I use them all the time and you can get 3 Lumix batteries for the price of one Leica battery. I also use the Lumix charger with my Leica and Lumix batteries. It's smaller than the Leica charger and has a fold out plug instead of a power cord. Much more convenient and easier to travel with.

+1. I have the same battery and charger. Works great.

• Like 2

I have some Wasabi Power batteries that are made from "Premium Cells from Japan".   They work, but... they don't last nearly as long as the stock Leica battery.   Since I have two of them (plus the stock battery) it's not much of an issue.  On the positive side, they were quite cheap.

If I ever need to buy more batteries I'll look at the Lumix version.