Question for R users about M lens

Csacwp

I'm not good at comparing focal lengths that different. My R 280/4 apo is a fantastic lens but i use it less than my Nikon 300/4 which is much lighter and has autofocus. At 135mm there is no "top" R lens AFAIK only the R 135/2.8 which has the same decent optics as the M 135/2.8. At 180mm my only experience is with the R 180/3.4 apo which is a brilliant lens indeed. See http://www.marcocavina.com/articoli_fotografici/Leitz_Apo-Telyt_180mm_glass/00_pag.htm. Only con its MFD of 2.5m. You will read here and there that this lens is soft on close ups which is exaggerated. Reminds me of the 90/2 apo which has the same reputation but performs more than decently at MFD in the centre of the frame at least. Now the M 135/3.4 has not this reputation, can focus at 1.5m and is so light and so good at all apertures that i'd rather bring it with my CL than the 180/3.4 apo on my M240. Only con is flare when there are strong light sources just outside the frame. Better use a long hood or make some shade with your hand or a hat then. 

Edit: R 135/2.8 and R 180/3.4 apo are Mandler lenses BTW. No idea about other designers.

Edited by lct

Got into R lenses for my Nikon DSLRs when Leitax introduced its replacement mount at about the time R lenses were discontinued in ~2009 (and somewhat affordable).