Moving from Nikon to SL to Use M Lenses

geopatriot

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I’ve been thinking about upgrading my Nikon equipment for a long time, but over the last month I’ve been contemplating moving out of the system altogether.  I was a professional photojournalist in the late 80s and early 90s, but now I guess you could classify me as a serious enthusiast who is drawn to technology, quality, and the potential of using well-made tools.  My budget is not unlimited, but I’m ready to finally fund the move to Leica.

I like the SL as a camera, with all of its bells and whistles.  I like the idea of GPS and wi-fi.  I really like the idea of continuing to benefit from Autofocus (I was a late adopter).  But, I’m apprehensive about the size and weight of the SL system lenses – all of them.  One of the reasons I was thinking about moving away from Nikon was to reduce size/weight, because most of my serious work is when I travel.  From that perspective, I started to look at the Fujifilm X-Pro2 system.  But, the more I thought about the move, I started to think about Leica.  If I’m going to spend the money, I want an improvement in image quality.  And while the APS-C is respectable, it doesn’t maximize the bokeh possibilities that I’d like to see in my street photography and portraits.  This is also the reason I finally rejected the CL system.  I quickly found myself looking at the SL.