Vignette issue - lens shade?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi

I am new to Q but not to Leica. I've discovered a vignetting issue - I think it's caused by the lens shade and seems to be automatically cleared away by the camera profile in LR but not Capture 1. The pictures attached are the same one processed in LR, one in C1. I wonder if anyone would like to comment on it please. Please forgive the cr@p photo - trying to get birds in flight on a hill. But the problem can be clearly seen in the pictures, hence me choosing this one in particular. Thanks

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Lens corrections are needed for the Q's RAW files, they are part of the package so to speak. What you see in the first image is a rendering without these corrections. Geometry, vignetting (and CA, I think) corrections are present in the profile that is embedded in the RAW file, but also in Adobe's profile. But not all RAW converters apply these corrections automatically, some do not even recognize them. On the other hand, in Adobe you cannot switch them off. I am not familiar with Capture 1 but it would surprise me if it did not have the option to apply a correction profile for the Q.

• Like 1

The issue occurs at 28 mm, especially if you are using UV or polarising filters - this is why I take off the lens shade for wide angle shots. The problem may also occur without the lens shade if you are not using ultra-thin filters.

Edited by EUSe

The issue occurs at 28 mm, especially if you are using UV or polarising filters - this is why I take off the lens shade for wide angle shots. The problem may also occur without the lens shade if you are not using ultra-thin filters.