Off topic "studio lighting question" for newbie

hockey44

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Greetings,

One of my sons is working on a website (start-up) and needs static photos of some products and models. I have M240 (Nocti, FLE, 50 Lux) Sekonic 758, Digilux 2, Canon 5d2 (85 1.2, 24-70).  I have no experience with studio lighting and looking for effective 'cheap' solution that hopefully can be collapsed and 'put away' (or my wife will chase me!).  I was planning on using the Nocti on tripod (or not) with EVF if need be.  Any recommendations on suggested ISO, F stops and "kits".  I am in London and expect this 'project' will come up again later so prepared to invest in something that might work effectively.  LED approach (with collapsable Softbox) looks like a small footprint (think packed up) possibility.  Again, I apologize as I have no clue how best to do this.  We tried today and no issue with focus but oh those shadows....hmmmm.  Thanks again and sorry for this 'silly' post.  But since I have 5 'kids'-- need to help to put the Leica 'to work'....hah

• Like 1

Why don't you rent a simple studio strobe lighting kit  with umbrellas and stands to get a feel for it, before you buy anything.
Maybe look at a kit with 2 Monolights?

As with all digital photography the base ISO is a good place to start ....so ISO 200

Your Canon with the 24to70 will be a fine camera with zoom options

Or use the your M240 with the 50.

All of this really depends on exactly what you will be shooting ......products and models ?

Are you shooting on white ......for everything? What are you selling/showing?

There are really so many ways to accomplish what you are trying to do.

I know this doesn't answer your questions ....but its a start.

Edited by ECohen