Best second Leica lens?

vaotix

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I bought a M240 a few months ago along with a Summarit-M 50mm lens. I love the combination so far but I find having only one focal length is pretty limiting right now. I just got some unexpected extra money and want to buy a second lens for my kit. I plan on sticking with the Summarit line because the price is right and the max f/2.4 aperture doesn't bug me. So far I'm trying to choose between the 35mm and the 75mm (though, I heard the 90mm is also really great). I'm having a tough time deciding which direction to go. I mostly use the Leica for portraiture and street shooting. Though, I can see it as a travel camera in the future, too.

What would your choice be for someone starting with Leica? I'm not a beginner photographer by any means, but this is my first Leica. Any tips or suggestions would be most welcome.

Since you're not new to photography, treat the Leica as you would any other camera.  Just determine which focal length is most appropriate for what you want to achieve and grab a lens of that focal length. Or, become overwhelmed with GAS and start accumulating lenses. Remember that not only Leica lenses will work on your camera, but also Voigtlander has a pretty good selection, and then there are a myriad of older screw mount lenses (Leica, Canon, Nikon, among others) which work fine with inexpensive LTM->M adapters. :)

• Like 1

For sure. I looked at third party lenses for a bit, but part of the reason I bought Leica was to shoot with Leica glass. It's part of the appeal. I still have a Canon 80D that I shoot with for most of my more serious portraiture and wildlife stuff. The Leica is a great companion to bring on a shoot or to do street photography with.