Highlight Clipping

GLC

Advertisement (gone after registration)

First let me say I love this camera.  Ive been working with M cameras for almost 20 years, I was very enthusiastic about the arrival of every digital version and very let down in one way or the other with each .. until now.  My only small gripe is that the highlights do go very quickly.  I know how to shoot for the highlights etc etc but.. but id so love a tiny bit more material to work with.  Please understand don't need 15 stops DR.

So my question is that is it possible that a future firmware can pull this trick?

• Like 2

I don't have an M10 but this was one of my gripes about that change they made and why Auto ISO shouldn't include this lowest ISO. In the LFI article I read, you could clearly see the highlights had clipped in the ISO 100 photo that they were trying to pass off as "handled well".

Even the M Typ 240 which I have easily clips if I'm not careful. I have actually learnt to underexpose typically by about 0.7 stops to save some of those highlights, unless I am watching the histogram.

The fact is that ISO 100 is not the native sensitivity and no matter what digital processing they do, it'll never make it real, especially since all digital sensors have this "hard clipping" characteristic.

M240 handles highlights better.

M10 handles shadow recovery better.

Similar dynamic range between the two.

I doubt this can be changed/upgraded via firmware. My only reasoning is that if it was possible I would hope/think that Leica would have done so with the M240??

I find both do well enough for most applications.

• Like 1

Explored 10 months ago: https://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/268833-iso-100-on-m10/