Plustek 8100 Resolution

Stealth3kpl

Hi Pete,

I'm no expert on that scanner but I've read at filmscanner.info that the effective resolution is about half of 7200. If that's true, I'm wondering if scanning at 7200 isn't just bloating the file without meaningful information being added. As for scanning at a higher resolution, whether in your case 7200 or half that, and later downsizing, that can be useful in certain situations. For instance it can deal with noise in the shadows, which is also 'shrunk' as one downsizes. Personally I don't do this, though, but scan at 2000dpi because it simplifies my workflow and is big enough for internet use. I will scan higher if I need to print larger, for instance.

Br
Philip

• Like 1

I read on a forum that the published resolution for the 8100i of 7200ppi is achieved using interpolation, so there is little point in scanning greater than 3600ppi (the actual scanner resolution) as it merely gives you bloated files. Is this correct?

Pete

The technical data on Plustek's site state that 7200ppi is the optical resolution of the device. 

Hi Pete,

I'm no expert on that scanner but I've read at filmscanner.info that the effective resolution is about half of 7200. If that's true, I'm wondering if scanning at 7200 isn't just bloating the file without meaningful information being added. As for scanning at a higher resolution, whether in your case 7200 or half that, and later downsizing, that can be useful in certain situations. For instance it can deal with noise in the shadows, which is also 'shrunk' as one downsizes. Personally I don't do this, though, but scan at 2000dpi because it simplifies my workflow and is big enough for internet use. I will scan higher if I need to print larger, for instance.

Br

Philip

I suspect this is the approach I'll take in future.

Thanks to all who responded.

Pete

Edited by Stealth3kpl

• 2 years later...