35mm dilemma: Zeiss f2.8 and f1.4 or Leica f2.0?

jmr237

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everyone, in a few months I will be in the market for a 35mm lens for my digital M-D and film MP. I have been using a 50mm summilux for a few years, and I added the 28mm elmarit about a year ago.

I plan to buy new (it's a personal preference). For the same amount of money ($3,200) one can buy a Leica 35mm Summicron or both the Zeiss 2.8 Biogon-C and the Zeiss 1.4 Distagon.

I have heard great things about all three lenses. The summicron option is appealing because you get one lens and are done with it. The Zeiss option is appealing because you end up with two great 35mm options--a small, compact lens when speed doesn't matter, and a 1.4 lens when low-light ability or minimal depth of field is more important.

Most of my pictures are family, travel, and occasional photo walks in the LA area.

• Like 1

I used to really like Zeiss lenses on my Nikons but a tiny 35mm Summicron on a Leica M is a very different experience, and one which I much prefer.

I’ve owned ZEiss ZM lenses and used them on my Ms, and yes, they are excellent lenses. But no Zeiss 35mm could replace a Summicron for ease and speed of use and the way it so perfectly fits the way I like to use my camera.

Yes, it’s a personal thing. I wouldn’t hesitate to put a Zeiss lens on an SLR but a Leica M is a different matter altogether.

Edited by Peter H
  • Haha 1

I find viewfinder blockage to be a significant factor in my lens selections.  In lens reviews the Zeiss lenses test very well in comparison to their Leica counterparts, but they are invariably larger and block more of the viewfinder.  I generally go with smaller lenses. If I had an M-D I would worry about not being able to review the image to determine if something unwanted is in the frame, but blocked from view by the lens.

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)