Need a Compact P&S to carry with the SL

Dr. G

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm looking for a good, small point and shoot to carry with the SL. The quick answer would be the Q, but I think the size and weight is a bit much for a second camera in my bag which will have the SL, Lux-SL 50mm and the 24-90 in it. If it's small and light and my wife can carry it in her bag, even better. Quality wise, I know the Q will give me similar results to the SL, but I'm not looking for a second camera to print large, just something to get good quality photos. Either a 28 or 35mm equivalent would work in the fixed lens department. I thought about the Fuji X100F, but I have no experience with Fuji.

In addition, it needs to be something I can easily hand to someone and have them take a good photo without playing around with settings.

Any suggestions?

The Fuji X100F is a great, all around APS-C camera. I've owned all versions. Nice build (Made in Japan) with very nice out of the camera JPEGs. With that said, it is pretty much the same size as the "Q", and the Q is full frame.

How about the new Leica CL with the 18mm pancake? It gets great reviews

The CL is about as compact as they get and it accepts all your SL lenses plus any M, R or TL lens...with the 18mm L lens it fits in a jacket pocket easily. Honestly it’s the perfect companion to the SL or even the M as it accepts all the lenses. Quite impressive camera for its size and certainly meets all your point and shoot requirements with either the 18mm or 23mm af lenses. I’d recommend the 18mm which is a 28mm equivalent on the CL

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Super small with a 28mm, the Ricoh GR or GRII fits in a back pocket, tiny but the images will be Leica like.  Another is the Nikon Coolpix A, now discontinued, but the images will not give up much to your SL.  Sony RX1 if you want full frame in a tiny body, the RX1markII is 42mp.