UV lens filters for TL Lenses

tomrc

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to the Leica family having recently purchased the TL2. In my other endeavors with Nikon, Canon and Hasselblad lenses I always had a UV filter on my lenses primarily for protection. I have read that putting a filter on a Leica lens would be a disservice to the lens. I would like to have some opinions on the use or non use of UV filters. Thanks in advance.

Tom

FAQ #1 on this forum. No, it is not a problem to put a filter on a Leica lens. If it were, there would be no filter thread. I would advise, though, to use a protective filter to protect the lens, like a B+W 007. UV filters are meant, ummm... to filter UV. Not that there is a need to do so in 98% of circumstances.

• Like 1

Welcome to the forums.  The TL lenses are superb and theoretically any glass placed in front of a great optic will degrade the image.  In my testing, a single well made filter from a well regarded manufacturer will not degrade the image for most photography, occasional flare being the exception.  I wouldn't hesitate to place them on any Leica lens.  

Roger Cicala of Lens Rentals has blogged about this with some interesting information:

https://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2017/06/the-comprehensive-ranking-of-the-major-uv-filters-on-the-market/

• Like 2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I never use filters, unless for special effect, as I believe adding those extra two surfaces in front of a superb lens can only degrade the quality. We pay a lot of money for Leica lenses because they are probably the best on the market and so why degrade them by adding inferior glass to the front of them.

Of course, this is just my opinion and I'll probably change it if I ever damage the front element on my Noctiliux.  :(  :(  ;)

Cheers, Tom

(Btw. In all that post I assume what Jaapv wrote: using filter purely as protection, not for any other effect which is very situational)