Teetering on the Brink of Buyer's Remorse

Johno

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Newbie here -- I just made a jump from D800 to add a M10 to my photo-arsenal and I'm struggling with the purchase. Please don't be offended. Maybe I'm the guy showing up with a can of worms at a fly fishing conference. Carrying a Bic to fountain pen convention. So I apologize in advance.

I've spent this much money on a camera that has quantifiably inferior features to many other options at far below the price.

I bought it for a distraction and because I wanted to try something different. I like the Leica build quality and wanted to try the RF experience, which people write about like it's extremely satisfying and special. I respect the brand. My friend has a Q; I tried it and really liked it! Wow what a nice camera that was. After several hundred shots with the M seeking the same feel but with interchangeable lenses I kind of wonder if I bought the camera equivalent of a fine hand-made flip phone. (Reduction to the essentials.) "Who needs navigation and Netflix on a phone?" my dad scoffs. Did I buy "spring water in a Pepsi world" -- as I read elsewhere -- only to realize they sell really good whiskey made with spring water for a lot less than this water cost? I mean with lenses I could buy a used M3, as in e46 BMW.

How much shooting do I need to do to "love" this camera? Yes, I kind of like slowing down and composing the shot and so on. But no info in the viewfinder other than shutter speed?

Sorry for the vent. Sorry for starting off on a negative note, but I'm scared I've spent a lot of money and even lost a little hope. Disclosure: One reason I bought it was to try to rekindle my lifelong love of shooting, snuffed out by a personal loss -- and a bizarre discovery at work -- that helped sapped my will to even keep going. I don't want to dwell on that. But I thought it's best to disclose my overall mindset is a bit colored these days.