How often do you run into other Leica users?

Keith_W

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have just returned from a month long holiday in some of the best known tourism spots in Germany and Austria. Naturally, as a keen hobby photographer, I was paying attention to what cameras my fellow tourists were using. I did not take an actual count, but these are my impressions: 

- 40% were using smartphone cameras

- 20% were using APS-C or MFT interchangeable lens cameras

- 20% were using a DSLR with what seems to be an equal split between Canon, Nikon, and Sony. 

- 10% were using compact digital cameras. 

How many Leica's did I spot? A grand total of FOUR. One was a gent with an M-P, and the other three were ladies (one M8, one M9, and one M240). 

I would have expected to run into more Leica users after a month travelling in some of Europe's tourism hotspots. Mind you, most of my observations were done in palaces like Schonbrunn or Hohensalzburg or Neuschwanstein where close to 100% of people there are tourists (as opposed to walking down the streets of Berlin, where maybe 2-3% are tourists). 

How often do you run across other Leica users in the wild? 

I have seen one Leica photographer on the street in 2016. It was French tourist with silver M6 in Toronto. I never seen M6 before and asked if it was Zeiss camera.

This year, I have seen one Leica photographer in Central Park, Manhattan . With black M6.  

This is it so far...

Where I'm some will bother to take picture on mobile, just because it is their kid. Those who are into photography more and whom I see outside of my house are with DSLRs of all kinds mostly.

Our elder daughter is paid photographer, using DSLR and I would never recommend Leica to her as the tool. Where is no service for Leica where we are, but for DSLRs...