Asking for a DNG developer.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have now a Leica D Lux 109 together several roll film Leica cameras and lenses.

Now I´m very interested in the new Leica CL to use my Leica M and R lenses unused for a long time.

I have no experience in DNG picture taking because until now I only take JPG pictures with the D Lux.

When I can get the CL (in a few months I hope), I will like to learn how to process the DNG pictures.

So my question is: What RAW developer is the easier to use for an unexperienced digital photographer like me?

The camera has an in camera Raw Processor function, but the rear screen is too small to make a good job.

Now I have installed in my computer the Apple Photos program and the Photoshop Elements 11.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Raw workflows are no more complicated than JPG ones and in many ways easier.

Photoshop Elements is fine for a beginner; it shares its algoritms with the full Photoshop and Lightroom, but offers a user-friendly interface. Lightroom is slightly more upmarket, but a bit of a hassle to obtain standalone,  ON1 is a good beginner's program, but with more than sufficient potential to grow to expert level- it might even be first choice, as it offers a phletora of presets and has very good tutorials.

I would avoid Photos; it is nowhere near Aperture, and a very dominant app in your computer.

• Like 2

There is the new kid on the block, Affinty from Serif. It has got good write ups as a RAW engine in the Photography press. For those like me, whose brain has never clicked with Lightroom, there is Capture One. Sadly even with the latest version 11, they have added complication but failed to add, what I regard as an essential tool for digital photographers, a de-haze tool. C1 does have a good library system for organising your RAW files.