Current 50 Summilux due for an update?

6bit

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am relatively new to he leica world. I noticed, hopefully correctly, the current 50 Summilux was released around 2004.

A lot has changed since then. Is this lens considered older or more to the point, is it due a refresh/update? I’m unsure how leica works in this regard. I am also unsure what constitutes time for an updated design.

What's your concern with the lens? I enjoy mine as is, aside from a trip to DAG to solve a somewhat sticky focus action. Wonderful optically.... like most all Leica lenses.

This one is typical Karbe design, a long time in planning and not easy to make...

https://www.shutterbug.com/content/leica-lens-saga-interview-peter-karbe

(2 pages)

Jeff

Edited by Jeff S
  • Like 3

I had similar concern before purchasing mine earlier this year. BUT let me assure you, even an update is due any time, you would want to buy the current one and hold on to it, save money and buy the updated lens when the fund is ready. Current version is a keeper.

• Like 1

I am relatively new to he leica world. I noticed, hopefully correctly, the current 50 Summilux was released around 2004.

A lot has changed since then. Is this lens considered older or more to the point, is it due a refresh/update? I’m unsure how leica works in this regard. I am also unsure what constitutes time for an updated design.

Some Leica lenses have been produced for three decades before any need for "refreshment" was felt. Please do not carry the digital upgrade frenzy over into the optical world.

• Like 8

What's your concern with the lens? I enjoy mine as is, aside from a trip to DAG to solve a somewhat sticky focus action. Wonderful optically.... like most all Leica lenses.

This one is typical Karbe design, a long time in planning and not easy to make...

https://www.shutterbug.com/content/leica-lens-saga-interview-peter-karbe

(2 pages)

Jeff