Dust on sensor outside of warranty

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

I am new to Leica and forum (not quite bought the camera yet!), and seek some help :)

I have read many threads over the last week on this forum so I am more familiar with the Q and any issues.

I have demoed a Q at the Mayfair store London, took a few pics outside the shop, then viewed at home on a big monitor.  Very nice indeed !  The lens on their demo was pretty dirty, marks and finger prints all over it !

I didn't know the Q was to order from Mayfair so I popped into another Leica dealer in London who was very helpful to ask if they had stock etc.

After reading several posts regarding dust on sensor appearing, my concern is what happens outside of warranty.  I just spoke to the Leica dealer (not Mayfair), and he shot me down in flames and said it doesn't exist and can't happen.  We chatted further and he said drop it in to us and we send to Leica.  Outside of warranty, he couldn't reply (for this non existent issue !) so I am no wiser or confident, how it would be handled.  Dropping it back to London would mean a 5 hour round trip so not on the doorstep !

I am just trying to gain some idea of cost of cleaning outside the warranty.  Does anyone have experience of costings, I guess this may be difficult as its prob around 2 yrs or approaching since it came out ?  

Out of all the little quirks the Leica has, this is stopping me buying one until I have a clearer idea on the cleaning.    Appreciate its not every Q that suffers. 

I really like the Q, image quality is fantastic looking at pictures :)  I am after a 2nd camera, fixed lens to go with my Fuji X-T2.  I know the obvious thing would be to buy a 100f but I cannot get away from the Leica quality !

Thanks for any help :)

Gill