Should I have just ordered the M10?

Dr. G

Advertisement (gone after registration)

A little background. I was trying out the Q vs the Sony RX1R ii a few weeks ago. I had ordered the Q and then had a change of heart and ordered the Sony instead. I had been shooting with it in low light recently and found some issues with the camera's responsiveness. In manual mode, the focus mechanism isn't very direct and in auto mode it doesn't always lock. Even when good focus is achieved in manual mode, the 42MP sensor seems prone to camera shake at slower shutter speeds.

I chose to return it today with an exchange for the Q, which Infound to be a great performer in manual focus mode, with auto it locked on nicely even in low light.

I keep thinking of the M10, though. Granted, it is significantly more money, but that's not the dilemma in making a decision. I've never shot a rangefinder before. Plus, I'm not very experienced in choosing aperture, ISO and shutter speed. Of course using the M would force me to change those things. I'm just on the fence about jumping into the deep end. From a financial position, I'm sure it wouldn't be a total loss if I chose to go back to the Q. It's just that I am captivated by the images people are getting with the M10.

Any thoughts? FWIW, these are some images I took with the RX1R ii at a recent automotive event. I like to take more impressionist types of photos. I apologize, as I can't embed on the forum from my iPad.

https://flic.kr/p/XXBJnj

https://flic.kr/p/YY8g8y

https://flic.kr/p/YZA28A

https://flic.kr/p/XXCDTN

https://flic.kr/p/YZARcG

https://flic.kr/p/BWinEJ

https://flic.kr/p/YY9uvJ

A couple of key considerations are obviously how much do you need and want autofocus and how much do you want alternative focal lengths? When you say you’re captivated by M images is it certain focal lengths, apertures or rendering styles that you’re interested in? If so that may be your answer. Go for the lens(es) that inspire you the most.