Focusing fast on the 50SL

BigBabyEarl

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I recently bought a 50 SL after seeing pretty stunning images. I have 1 year old daughter and wanted something to take more portraits with. I was a little taken back by how slow the lens is to focus using face detection. I've used a fast shutter and had some amazing results when nails, but lots of missed moments. Lots. I'm still learning and had better luck the other day, but I still can't believe how slow it is- particularly in low light. I've used a S 007 100mm and felt like it was faster (but so damn expensive I sold it out of guilt, bought an 006 that is slower and lower iso so welcome to my hell). I've always loved Leica. Its look, its beautiful cameras, its slow but interesting innovations. Now I feel like a chump. I'm growing tired of missing moments and the Nikon D850 or Fuji GFX is looking better day by day. 

Contrast detect focus systems are often going to be slower (and more accurate) than phase detect systems.

If you bought the 50 SL for the IQ and the f1.4 DOF and light gathering, the GFX has nothing to offer (63mm is an f2.8) and the D850 doesn’t offer any autofocus lenses at 50/1.4 with similar IQ.

If you don’t need the shallow DOF and light gathering abilility afforded by the f1.4 aperture, try the 24-90 for faster focusing with solid IQ.

• Like 1

Hello Earl,

Welcome to the Forum.

An F1.4. 50mm Summilux Asph for a film camera is pretty much the same lens.

If you use an M3 with a .91X magnification range/viewfinder: Looking & Focusing are easy. And the shutter lag is 1/50th of a second.

Not too bad for a camera that was discontinued before anyone ever walked on the Moon.

Best Regards,

Michael

Edited by Michael Geschlecht

Contrast detect focus systems are often going to be slower (and more accurate) than phase detect systems.