28mm Elmarit Asph. 11606 vs 11677

Stealth3kpl

According to Sean Reid, the new 28/2.8 asph would be sharper in the centre of the frame but in the corners, the old version would show better resolution on digital M cameras. I have no experience with the new version but my old copy works fine on my M240, M8.2 and Sony A7s mod cameras so i don't plan to upgrade for now.

• Like 2

According to Sean Reid, the new 28/2.8 asph would be sharper in the centre of the frame but in the corners, the old version would show better resolution on digital M cameras. I have no experience with the new version but my old copy works fine on my M240, M8.2 and Sony A7s mod cameras so i don't plan to upgrade for now.

If it were Leica, it's marketing speak for 'It's the same'. Since it's from Sean Reid, it probably means the orange in the middle would be a little sharper than the ones in the corner. It must be a big deal!

Edited by rramesh
  • Like 1

I'm having difficulty. Can you point me to some links?

Pete

Sure, here's a review of the new Summicron 28 f/2 ASPH by Jono Slack (I think.) There is no doubt about significantly improved performance over the prior version on the M240 and the SL. It is also better on the A7ii, but still not very good.

https://theleicameet.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/the-old-and-new-leica-28mm-summicron-asph/

Edited by robgo2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Sure, here's a review of the new Summicron 28 f/2 ASPH by Jono Slack (I think.) There is no doubt about significantly improved performance over the prior version on the M240 and the SL. It is also better on the A7ii, but still not very good.

https://theleicameet.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/the-old-and-new-leica-28mm-summicron-asph/

This could easily be sample variation and is in no way whatsoever, not even remotely, scientific.