To EVF or not whyen using the TL2

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Guys

I'm new to this kind of camera, I've always had a viewfinder and like the idea of having a viewfinder. I do recall when I had my Leica Q that I sometimes held it up in the air or out in front of me to take a picture, I've also shot my Leica S using live view so I not a complete virgin :) 

I would be interested in knowing what everyone else uses when they are out shooting street kind of photography with there Leica T's............do you hold it out in front of you or do you use an IVF?

I don't know but I would have though it would be a PITA to take the EVF on and off especially if you are carrying the camera in a pocket ?

Neil

Hi Neil,

A bit of both for me. I'm quite happy to use the screen when out and about taking tourist shots in a city with a wide lens but I strongly prefer to use the EVF with longer lenses. 

The EVF is almost essential. I wouldn't enjoy my T half as much without it but I could still get decent results.

Regarding the pocketability, I don't own any coat or jacket that could accommodate a T with a lens on. 

The T(L2) is only pocketable if you use one of the compact M lenses ..... such as the Summicron 40/2 or the older 35/2's, 28/2.8's. etc. 

Sticking it anywhere with the EVF on is problematic ....... but it only takes seconds to attach/remove - unless you are obsessive and insist on putting the cover plates on EVF and hotshoe and storing the EVF in its case .... :rolleyes:

I tend to be the latter so it goes on the camera when I go out and comes off when I come back home. Otherwise it's a PITA. It does make taking good photos a great deal easier though. 

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

The T(L2) is only pocketable if you use one of the compact M lenses ..... such as the Summicron 40/2 or the older 35/2's, 28/2.8's. etc.