Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey all, I have a question about selecting a 75mm lens primarily for portrait use.

Admittedly, I'm new to taking portraits but I would like to start focusing on this in my photography. I'm considering 75mm since 90mm seemed a bit disconnected when I was taking pictures with any context and 50mm was seemingly invasive...maybe I need to work on that though or just crop.

This led me to try shooting with a 75mm Summilux and Summicron, each of which I liked for different reasons:

-The out-of-focus on the Lux is quite lovely, skin tones looked a little cooler than the Summicron (which I'm leaning toward liking).

-The Cron was great ergonomically and the rendering seemed like a cropped 50 Lux asph, maybe a bit sharper wide open.

Depending on the lighting during the day, some photos with the Lux had color fringing on edges, which may be a pain to deal with.

I shoot film and digital, but the test photos I took were strictly digital (m240).

However, shooting both lenses in lower light and slightly stopped down produced background lights that were neither round nor polygonal in shape, which was surprising at first until I actually looked at the aperture blade geometry on both lenses. I can post some photos if that is helpful, but I imagine that this is nothing new. This seemed a bit distracting to me in the sample photos I took, but maybe it was just unexpected.

While mulling over my test pics to see which rendering I prefer, I started wondering about the 75mm Summarit (f/2.4). Are the aperture blades straight or curved across the range, or do they also have some jaggedness (for lack of a better word) around f/2.8-5.6?