Leice Q - still good to buy new?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello,

I was just asked if it's smart to get the Leica Q which is almost 3 years on the market?

I had no idea what to say, still good as on day one, or old technology ?

We meet on weekend again and I better should have an answer for him when he asks me again...

Please help getting a smart answer.

Others, I am sure, will have a much more informed opinion than me. My view is based on using Nikon equipment since 1982 and at the moment a Nikon D800 with a selection of prime lenses and a Q for the past six months. So I am new to Leica. I thought it was 'smart' to get a Q six months ago and today I think it was very smart to have done so!

Is it just the age of the technology that is of concern? To my mind there is a far more fundamental questions to be answered first. Does he/she want a 28mm fixed lens full frame sensor camera at a not insignificant financial outlay? If the answer to that is 'yes' the technology issue is not an issue because this is the only one top get. Sure the upper ISO range is not as clean as my D800 for example but it is even older technology. So age of technology is not really the issue. For me the bottom line is that the quality of the images the Q can produce is frankly outstanding due no doubt to the quality of the optics - it still takes my breath away. The other attraction quite unrelated to age of technology is the physical nature of the controls - aperture ring on the lens and shutter dial on top with good manual focus when needed. It is all to hand and so there is a physical quality to taking photographs very redolent of my first Nikon film camera. It puts you in touch with your photography. It is still selling very well and is unlikely to be replaced in the near future.