Leica M10: I need a zoom lens....

LeicaDreamer

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everybody,

after shooting many years with Canon, two months ago I bought my first Leica, a M10 in silver combination and a Leica 28mm, f2.0.

I really enjoy shooting with the M System and learning each day to be faster with the "Messesucher", but going around I miss a zoom lens that can give me the possibility to "take some facial expressions"...I studied in the Leica offer and I need your help to understand the differences between the Leica 75mm f2,0 and the Leica 90mm f2,0...Looking to my previuos experience (I was using very often the Canon 70-200 f2,8) I would buy the 90mm f2,0 but It would be interesting have more information from your personal feeling and experiences...

Thanks in advance for your answer and for sharing with me your suggestions!

Have a nice day!

Gino

Hello Gino,

Neither of the two Apo-Summicron-M 75mm or 90mm is a zoom.

Leica offer only for M mount two (one only now) Tri-Elmar-M : "16-18-21 WATE" and "28-35-50 MATE" only the wide to cover 16mm to 50mm.

If you need something in long focus "zoom", you can adapt some SLR zoom (regrettably not EF Canon) to use M10 + Visoflex 020.

I have tried Vario-Elmar-R 4/70-210 from my Leica R but it's not practical at all and not in "M philosophy".

So I just use M lenses to 135mm then swap with R lenses + adapter for longer lenses (Apo-Telyt-R 180mm or 4/280).

Apo-Summicron-M 2/75mm is very nice and handy with the best optical quality but not suitable for portrait (I need some "soft rendering).

For portrait Summilux-M 75mm has my preference for more or less 30 years (regret those Kodachrome with Summilux-M 75mm portraits).

• Like 1

Hi Geno

I'm glad you're enjoying your rangefinder camera. You've got a great lens to start with that is probably far more versatile than you've yet come to realise.