M9P or M240

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

I have an opportunity to buy either M9P or M240 from a reputable on-line dealer. 

I have a question for you all, but first I would like to say a bit about myself.

I am an amateur who has been shooting for 9 years.  I own Canon dSLR system, Fujifilm system, Leica R5, and Leica T.

For Leica, I have 50mm Summicron-R 2-cam which I use on my R5.  I have 50mm Summarit-M and 135mm Elmar-M that I use on my T.  Also, I have an auto-focus 18-56mm TL mount which I use on my T for family-gathering photography.

I love to shoot manual.  I do not care about auto-focus.  I use auto-focus for surf photography using my Canon system.

I shoot street-photography, and I do not shoot landscape.   I love b&w photography.

I do not care about rear LCD, I prefer a camera without it.  Weight (light), size (small), and discrete are my criteria for a Leica camera.

From a price aspect, it is easier to convince my wife (boss) to buy M9P than M240, (£2,479.00  versus £3,199.00)

Here are my questions:

1.  Am I too greedy by wanting too many camera bodies?  (you do not have to answer this question :-))

a.  My wife always asks me why I need so many cameras :-).  I had told my boss that I have worked hard all of my life and I do not spend money on anything else besides photography equipment (sound familiar?)

2.  Should I be worried about M9's sensor issue?  Is the M9 sensor replacement program still going on?

b.  What would be a typical sensor replacement cost?

3.  For street-photography, how is M9 versus M240?

What do you think?

Dennis

Edited by blueskyoveraquatic
  • Like 1

Hi Dennis!

For the first question.. ..YES anyone is being too greedy for wanting too many camera bodies! Of course it's not up to me to tell anyone else what 'too many' actually equates to..